Are pasta and noodles the same thing?

Noodles and pasta differ primarily because of their ingredients and the type of processing involved. Noodles are usually made with flour milled from common wheat. Pasta is processed from durum semolina, which is coarser than typical flour. However, the difference is not always recognized.