How do i get a shovel in animal crossing?

To get your first shovel in Animal Crossing New Horizons, you will need to donate 5 fish, and/or bugs to, Tom Nook. He'll give you a spot to set up for the museum, and once that's there, Blathers will give you a recipe for a shovel. This will allow you to craft it whenever you want.