How do you collect amethyst in minecraft?

The amethyst cluster block itself in any of its growth stages (rather than its amethyst shard drops) can be obtained by mining it with any pickaxe with the Silk Touch enchantment. When mined using any other tool with the Silk Touch enchantment, it drops nothing.