What makes a mexican jumping bean jump?

A tiny moth larva inside makes a jumping bean jump. In the spring, when the shrub is flowering, moths lay their eggs on the shrub's hanging seedpods. When the eggs hatch, tiny larvae bore into the immature green pods and begin to devour the seeds.