What's the movie john q. based on a true story?

According to a report by Distractify.com, there is no real John Q. However, in the film's commentary track between the director Nick and James Kearnes, the writer of the movie, they were told by the SWAT team advisors of a similar incident that took place in Toronto in 1998.