What are the different types of ounces?

Troy ounce has 31.10 grams, unlike the standard Avoirdupois ounce which has 28.35 grams. There are 12 Troy ounces in a pound, and 16 ounces in an Avoirdupois. Therefore a Troy pound is lighter than an Avoirdupois pound.