How long can a gator stay underwater?

Alligators can stay underwater for much longer than humans. A typical dive might last 10 to 20 minutes. In a pinch an alligator can stay submerged for up to two hours if it is at rest. And, in very cold water, an alligator can last up to eight hours submerged.