How long do you simmer chicken?

Chicken pieces don't simmer as long as whole chickens. Simmer bone in chicken breast halves, wings for 35 to 45 minutes and boneless chicken breast halves for 20 to 35 minutes depending on thickness. Legs, thighs and drumsticks should simmer at least 40 to 50 minutes.