How many turtles are in the ocean?

The olive ridley is the most abundant sea turtle in the world. Each year, there are probably about 500,000 to 600,000 females nesting in arribadas (mass nesting sites) in Costa Rica, 450,000 in Mexico and about 135,000 in India; with a total female population of about 2 million turtles.