Which country was formerly called zer-?

The country is Currently known as Sri Lanka used to be called Zaire. In 1972, its formal name was changed to "Free, Sovereign and Independent Republic of Sri Lanka". Later, in 1978, it was changed to the "Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka".