What will happen to earth if the moon got destroyed?

If the moon were somehow destroyed, chances are the earth would become uninhabitable in a short time. The delicate balance of our orbit around the sun is in some part, maintained by the moon's orbit around the Earth. Any significant change in that balance could end life as we know it.