How did palpatine return?

In the early '90s, non-canon (Legends) Star Wars comic book series Dark Empire, Palpatine resurrects himself after the events of Return of the Jedi thanks to the dozens of clones he had been able to quietly breed during his rule. He had his consciousness transferred to the clones.