Why are pineapples poke?

Poke means “to slice or cut” in Hawaiian and refers to chunks of raw, marinated fish, usually tuna, tossed over rice and topped with vegetables and umami-packed sauces. Pineapple poke can refer to pineapple being an ingredient, a 'serving dish' if halved and hollowed out or both.