Who said speak quietly and carry a big stick?

Roosevelt like the quote, "Speak softly, and carry a big stick you will go far". He thought the US had to carry a big stick when dealing with foreign policy. He encouraged the US to invest in other countries. Woodrow Wilson became President in March 1913.