What is it mean when a movie is not rated?

An unrated movie is one that was not submitted to the Motion Picture Association of America for a rating. A movie can be unrated because it predates M.P.A.A ratings, because the producers did not want to receive an N.C. 17 rating, or because it is a version that differs from the theatrical release.