Are sonic and shadow related?

Sonic & Shadow are not related at all, Shadow was created 50 years ago, way before Sonic's time, on the Space Colony ARK by Professor Gerald Robotnik, born from the great Black Doom somehow using his DNA which gave him the black & red color scheme that the aliens also have.