How many different cats are there?

The International Cat Association, the world's largest genetic registry of pedigreed cats, recognizes seventy-one different kinds. Encyclopedia Britannica only lists fifteen cat breeds. Many other well-recognized registries and associations tend to fall between those two numbers.