What is an arm roast?

The arm roast, which is cut from the beef chuck primal, is one of the most popular pot roasts.

---

The arm roast is also known by several other names, including arm pot roast, arm chuck roast, round bone pot roast and arm steak, according to the Butcher's Guild meat glossary. This lean cut of meat can be tough and benefits from slow, moist cooking methods such as stewing and braising.