What happens when a fish is placed in freshwater?

If a saltwater fish is placed in freshwater, the water will overfill the cells and the fish will bloat and die. There are some fish such as salmon that can migrate from freshwater to saltwater and back again. They can do so because they have a special enzyme that regulates salt levels in their cells