What's the difference between ocean and a sea?

An ocean is a very large body of saltwater covering covering tens of thousands of square miles, A sea is a much smaller body of saltwater a much smaller area. In size the next step down would be a lake such as the Great Salt Lake. A sea can also exist as an area inside of a much larger ocean.