What is the starfighter?

The Lockheed F-104 Starfighter is an American single-engine, supersonic air superiority fighter which was extensively deployed as a fighter-bomber during the Cold War. In Star Wars there are also fictional Starfighters that are spacecrafts used to travel and fight.