What is the lake superior mining region?

Lake Superior is the northern most Great Lake located along the north shore of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Mining around the western end of Lake Superior consist of Iron and Copper Ore with many mining companies still operating in the region today. Ore is shipped mainly by freighter ships.