Is garlic onion?

Garlic and onions are related, and are both part of the Allium genus. That's a subtype of the Amaryllidaceae family, and it's pretty extensive. Other members of the Allium genus include chives, shallots, and leeks.

---

It belongs to the onion family, alongside shallots, leeks, and chives.