Who invented mochi?

Frances Hashimoto, the former President and CEO of Mikawaya, is credited as the inventor of mochi ice cream. Hashimoto's husband, Joel Friedman, Conceived the ideal of taking small orbits of ice cream and wrapping them in Japanese traditional mochi rice cake.