Can cars get struck by lightning?

Yes. While a car provides some protection from lightning, as the metal frame directs lightning currents to the ground, vehicles can still be damaged by a strike. Lightning damage to a vehicle includes pitting, arcing and burning along with electrical system issues.

---

Cars like all other objects are prone to lightning