What's an australian cycad?

Cycads are ancient seed plants dating back over 200 million years. There are many Australian native cycads and three endemic genera: Bowenia, Lepidozamia and Macrozamia. Although they are very popular garden plants, cycads are threatened, endangered or extinct in the wild.