What is the function of the human liver?

In general, all blood leaving the stomach and intestines passes through,and is processed by,this essential-to-life organ. The liver is involved with filtration, digestion, metabolism, detoxification, protein synthesis, and storage of vitamins and minerals. The liver has more than 500 known functions