What is the origin of jerry rig?

It was originally "jury rig," and "jerry rig" is a corruption of the term. The exact origins of the term aren't clear, but the word "jury" (meaning makeshift or temporary) has been in use since 1618, and the term "jury rigged" has been in use since at least 1788.