What are some substitutes for vanilla extract?

Maple Syrup. My go-to substitute for vanilla extract is maple syrup. Almond Extract. Almond extract is significantly more potent than vanilla, but it will provide a similar flavor profile if you use it sparingly. Bourbon, Brandy or Rum. Other Spices. Instant Coffee or Espresso Powder. Citrus Zest.