Why shouldn't you leave trees floating in minecraft?

According to Minecraft101.net, if you don't remove every piece of wood from a tree, the leaves will not decay and will remain floating in the air. This is ugly, and considered obnoxious on multiplayer servers! Build a pillar of dirt or something to reach the upper branches.