What's the difference between red wine glasses and white wine glasses?

White wine glasses have shorter bowls. This allows the drinker to bring the wine closer to their nose which is helpful for more subtly aromatic white wines. Red wine glasses create more visible surface area, which can make it easier to see the wine's viscosity and color as it is swirled in the glass