Where is urdu spoken?

Urdu is an Indo-Aryan language spoken chiefly in South Asia. It is the national language and lingua franca of Pakistan, where it is also an official language alongside English. In India, Urdu is an 8th Schedule language whose status and cultural heritage is recognized by the Constitution of India.

---

Urdu is spoken in India and Pakistan. In Pakistan, Urdu is the “official language.”