What is the history of coit tower?

Coit Tower in San Francisco, California, was funded by Lillie Hitchcock Coit, a life-long resident of that city. She wished to enhance the city’s beauty and honor its fire-fighters. The tower took five years to build. Completed in 1933, the interior was decorated with murals by 27 artists.