How do bats see in the dark?

Bats hunt in the dark using echolocation, meaning they use echoes of sounds bouncing off objects to help them navigate. And many fruit bats, which drink nectar rather than hunt insects, don't echolocate at all. These species have particularly sharp vision, and some can even see ultraviolet light.