How is imitation vanilla extract made?

It’s created in a lab. This synthetic vanillin can come from wood pulp waste (though that's recently fallen out of favor) or coal tar, cow poop, secretions from a beaver's castor glands (located conveniently near its anus), clove oil, pine bark, or fermented bran.