Do dragonflies bite or sting?

Dragonflies do not sting, but can bite. Biting does not occur spontaneously or aggressively. However a dragonfly may bite out of self-defense if held and their mandibles are close to the skin - this will not cause major harm and should serve as an indication to simply allow the creature to fly away.