Where does the expression happy as a clam come from?

A clam is a form of sea life with a soft body encased in two equal-sized shells. High tide is the time when a clam is safest and happiest, giving rise to the saying as happy as a clam at high tide, which is more commonly shortened to as happy as a clam.