Who created l. e. d. lights?

In 1961, Robert Biard, and Gary Pittman, invented and patented the 1st l.e.d, an infrared L.E.D for Texas Instruments. Since it was infrared, it was beyond the visible light spectrum. In 1962, Nick Holonyack, a, engineer for G.E., invented the first visible red light LED.