What is the first soda invented?

The first marketed soft drinks appeared in the 17th century as a mixture of water and lemon juice sweetened with honey. In 1676 the Compagnie de Limonadiers was formed in Paris and granted a monopoly for the lemonade. Vendors carried tanks on their backs from which they dispensed cups of lemonade.