How long should you boil an egg?

Put the eggs in a pot, fill with water until the eggs are completely submerged & bring to a boil. Once the water is at a rolling boil, turn off the heat and cover with the lid. 3 minutes for SOFT boiled; 6 minutes for MEDIUM boiled; 12 minutes for HARD boiled. Transfer to a bowl of ice water.