What is vanilla flavoring?

Pure vanilla extract is the product of orchids that grow only in tropical climates. The extract must be 35 percent alcohol. But, more alcohol results in a deeper, richer flavor. Imitation vanilla is made from artificial flavorings and wood byproducts. For the best outcome, always use pure vanilla.