Which united states state is closest to africa?

The title of "closest US state to Africa" belongs to Maine and, specifically, a peninsula called Quoddy Head. Its quaint, little lighthouse, the Quoddy Head Light, is at the easternmost point of the US. It's also the point closest to Africa, about 3,154 miles from El Beddouza.