Is it possible to make an infinite lava source in minecraft?

You can make an infinite lava source by placing lava on top of a dripstone block with dripstone underneath. Place a cauldron under the lava and it will slowly fill with lava you can pick up with a bucket.

---

Lava is consumed to make obsidian, so no lava source blocks are not infinite.