When was the pledge of allegiance invented?

The Pledge of Allegiance was written in August 1892 by socialist minister Francis Bellamy

---

The Pledge was originally written in 1892 by Francis Bellamy and officially adopted by Congress in 1942. There have been four slight changes in language over the years. The current version we recite today was adopted in 1954.