Does a vacuum cleaner suck?

Yes. Some literally, some figuratively.

---

Yes, vacuum cleaners suck. They also blow. Vacuum cleaners work by displacing air. A fan turns and moves air. In doing so, one side of the fan becomes negative pressure, a vacuum. As air rushes in to replace the air that was moved, it picks up dust and dirt, etc.