Why do possums hang upside down?

Possums or known in North America as Opossums, do not hand upside down. The myth of them sleeping while hanging upside down by their tails just isn't true. Still, though, their prehensile tails are impressive. They can use them much like a fifth limb to aid in climbing trees and other structures.