What was the first doughnut made?

In the 19th century, Elizabeth Gregory, a ship captain's mother, devised a pastry for her son and his crew to help them ward off colds and scurvy while on long voyages. She made a deep-fried dough that used nutmeg, cinnamon, and lem-on rind with nuts in the center and called them doughnuts.