How old was beethoven when he lost his hearing?

Those that have studied Beethoven's letters, buzzing noises and other sounds started at around 1796 at age 26. The deafness began in 1798 and Beethoven had lost 60% of his hearing by 1801 at age 31. At 46 in 1816 he was completely deaf.