What does a purple lightsaber mean in star wars?

The wielders of purple lightsabers are able to reflect the powers of dark side attacks back at their attacker.

---

Only Jedi Master Mace Windu has ever been seen to have a purple lightsaber. It was a special request by actor Samuel L. Jackson so that his character would stand out.