Was ohio a slave state?

Slavery was abolished in Ohio's state constitution in 1802, but because Kentucky, a slave state, was right across the river, it took the lead in aggressively banning black immigration, and in 1829 Ohio enacted restrictive requirements and fines for blacks who wanted to remain in the state.